Report to:	Council – Public Excluded
Date:	31 August 2022
Subject:	2022 Canterbury Water Management Strategy Zone Committee Refresh
Prepared by:	Will Doughty – Chief Executive Officer
Input sought from:	Murray Griffin – Environment Canterbury Murray Dickson – Senior Manager Corporate Services Becky Makin – Executive Officer
Authorised by:	Will Doughty – Chief Executive Officer

1. SUMMARY

To provide the Council with an overview of the 2022 CWMS (Canterbury Water Management Strategy) Zone Committee Refresh and the Selection Panels' recommendations for the CWMS Zone Committees.

This year's CWMS Zone Committees Refresh was advertised by Environment Canterbury between Monday 2 May and Monday 30 May. In total, 41 applications were received across the nine Zone Committees, compared with 56 applicants in 2021. Selection Panel workshops and decisions on appointments are now completed for all nine Zone Committees being refreshed this year.

The CWMS Zone Committee Refresh is only for community representatives. Local Authorities will make their appointments to the CWMS Zone Committees following the results of the Local Government Elections in October 2022, as part of confirming Councillor appointments to all committees.

This report is in Public Excluded session as it includes details regarding individuals and therefore privacy issues. The nine Zone Committee approvals will be made publicly available by Environment Canterbury from 1st September 2022.

All Zone Committee community representatives have a 3-year term and they are staggered so they are not all up for Refresh in the same year. Last year's Zone Committee Refresh saw Ted Howard, Robby Roche and John Murray re-appointed, and Desiree Bolton appointed to the Zone Committee. Their term is from 1 Sep 2021 to 31 August 2024. The term for Nicky McArthur, Gina Solomon and Teresa Sonal term will be from 1 Sep 2022 to 31 Aug 2025.

2. **RECOMMENDATION**

It is recommended that the Council:

- a) Receives this overview of the 2022 Canterbury Water Management Strategy Zone Committee Refresh.
- b) Approves the following appointments to the CWMS Zone Committees:
 - Reappoint Nicky McArthur, Gina Solomon and Teresa (Teri) Sonal
- c) Delegates the Chief Executive Officer to determine the release of this public excluded report from 1st September 2022.

3. BACKGROUND

An overview of the 2022 CWMS Zone Committee selection process is provided including the selection panel participants, a short bio on the recommended Zone Committee appointments, and the composition of the refreshed 2022 Zone Committees. This overview is provided for all zone committees in this year's refresh.

3.1 Selection Panel

Independent Chair: Jane Demeter Kaikōura District Council: Councillor Tony Blunt Te Rūnanga o Kaikōura: Clint McConchie Environment Canterbury: Councillor Grant Edge

3.2 Recommended Appointments

Nicky McArthur – is the owner of Puhi Peaks Station in the Seaward Kaikōura Ranges and managing director of tourism company Kaikōura Wilderness Experience Ltd, which incorporates farm, tourism, hunting ventures and Shearwater Lodge. She is passionate about maintaining the uniqueness of the 8,000 acres that make up Puhi Peaks Station and believes knowledge and management of the property is the key to good kaitiakitanga. Nicky is also the convenor of community liaison for the Hutton's Shearwater Charitable Trust.

Gina Solomon – has been a representative on the committee since its formation, previously as a Rūnanga representative and now as a community member. Her strong commitment to the environment and conservation is also reflected in the other organisations she is associated with including Te Korowai o Te Tai o Marokura/Kaikōura Coastal Marine Guardians, and the Nelson/Marlborough Conservation Board, director on the QEII National Trust, member of the Nature Heritage Fund and a trustee on the Titī/Hutton's Shearwater Charitable Trust. Gina was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2021, for her services to conservation.

Therese (Teri) Sonal – works at Whale Watch Kaikōura. Tourism is the biggest business in Kaikōura, with Whale Watch Kaikōura very keen to continue their community responsibility in actively participating in process that will determine how water is to be managed in the Kaikōura area thereby helping fulfil their kaitiaki responsibilities for the management of water in the zone. Teri has lived in Kaikōura for over 30years, building up good knowledge of the southern part of the zone. She has taught at the local high school and tutored at Kaikōura Centre for Continuing Education, including the management of the marine environment and natural resources. Teri has a long association with Takahanga Marae and Te Rūnanga o Kaikōura.

3.3 2022 Refreshed CWMS Kaikoura Zone Committee

Kaikōura District Council: Councillor Tony Blunt Te Rūnanga o Kaikōura: Clint McConchie and Ari Boyd Environment Canterbury: Councillor Grant Edge

Community Representatives: Ted Howard Robby Roche John Murray Desiree Bolton Nicky McArthur Teri Sonal Gina Solomon

4. FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

This Zone Committee Refresh process is part of the annual CWMS programme and supported by ECan (Environment Canterbury) Communications in terms of promotion and advertising.

5. RISK ASSESSMENT AND LEGAL COMPLIANCE

This Zone Committee Refresh has been conducted in accordance with the refreshed CWMS Zone Committee Terms of Reference, which included the appointment of an Independent Chair for all the Selection Panels.

6. ENGAGEMENT, SIGNIFICANCE AND MAORI PARTICIPATION

Selection Panels were composed of Elected Members from Environment Canterbury and respective Councils for each Zone Committee alongside representatives from Papatipu Rūnanga for each Zone Committee. Jane Demeter was the Independent Chair for all Selection Panels.

There was no refresh conducted for the Hurunui Waiau Uwha Zone Committee as this committee was formally disestablished in 2021. The Hurunui District Council is still looking to establish a Hurunui Water and Land Committee, which will be revisited after this year's Local Government elections.

7. CONSISTENCY WITH COUNCIL POLICY

This Zone Committee Refresh process is in accordance with the Council's policies and standing orders for committees.

8. CLIMATE CHANGE IMPACTS

Climate change does not have a material impact on this update or this Zone Committee Refresh process.

9. COMMUNICATION

A communications plan was developed for the promotion of this year's CWMS Zone Committee Refresh incorporating social media, radio, and advertising in local papers across the region. A key priority of this communication plan was to avoid a conflict with the Council's Long Term Plan consultation.

10. NEXT STEPS

The final stage of this CWMS Zone Committee Refresh will be to confirm these appointment recommendations with the respective Councils. As Zone Committees are joint committees, Territorial Authorities will need to also approve appointments of community members for zone committees within their district. Once the refreshed CWMS Zone Committees have been confirmed by both the respective Local Authorities and Environment Canterbury the reappointed, and newly appointed, Zone Committee members will be formally welcomed onto their committee. We expect this process to be completed in September 2022, depending on the timing of Council and CWMS Zone Committee meetings.

11. COMMUNITY OUTCOMES

The issue discussed in this report relate to the following community outcomes:



Services

Our services and infrastructure are cost effective, efficient and fit-for-purpose



Development

We promote and support the development of our economy



Environment

We value and protect our environment

Future

We work with our community and our partners to create a better place for future generations