Mayor and Councillors

Kaikōura District Council has 7 members plus the Mayor, all elected ‘at large’. There are no community boards. This page contains contact information and details about the roles, responsibilities and backgrounds of all Council members.

Council Committees and Advisory Groups 

Committees and advisory groups help Council make decisions about our district. The table below shows which Councillors take part in which groups.

Full details about the powers and responsibilities of the committees and groups can be found in the Delegations Manual and Standing Orders, found in the 'Useful Links' section below.  

As well as those listed, the Kaikōura Community Services committee and Kiwa Road Advisory Group are currently under development. 

Council is also continuing to work with Te Rūnanga o Kaikōura to ensure effective representation.

Download a copy of the Committee and Advisory Group diagram

Mayor Craig Mackle

Born and raised in Kaikōura, Craig is married with three children.  He lived on the family farm for most his life and spent 17 years owning and operating a local concrete business that employed many locals. Craig is  passionate about Kaikoura's future and is into his third term on Council and his first as Mayor.

Craig stood for Mayor in 2019 because he believed he needed to see the district through the final stages of earthquake recovery and into a new, bright future. 

Key Council Roles: Mayor, Responsible Camping Working Group member, Kaikōura representative on Regional Joint Committees, member of whole of Council committees. 

Key Community Roles:  Community Pool Trust member

Phone: 0274 375 640


Deputy Mayor Julie Howden

Kaikōura born and bred, Julies parents Ellen and Peter Smith were dairy farmers out at Red Swamp Rd. She attended St Josephs School (when it was out at the Old Convent) and finished off as Head Girl of the High School. 

A qualified Chef with a background in hospitality and over a decade of experience on the Board of Trustees of St Joseph’s School, Julie runs the Bendamere House B&B and is passionate about the tourism and accommodation side of our District. Julies goal is to make Kaikōura a town that prospers and is a safe and engaging place to live, work and play.

Key Council Roles: Deputy Mayor, Chair of Destination Kaikōura, Mayoral Relief Fund committee member, Innovative Waste Kaikoura Board member. 

Key Community Roles:  Treasurer on the Board for the Kaikōura Community Vehicle Trust, Finance Rep for Sacred Heart Church

Phone: 0275 432 559